Title: I Hear…Love

Series: A Different Road Series Novel

Author: Annalisa Nicole

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: February 29, 2016


Kate Mason at twenty-three, feels as though she has lived through enough sorrow and pain to fill generations of lifetimes. On the outside, she wears a beautiful mask. On the inside, she’s a million, jagged, broken pieces. She blames herself, not only for her parent’s death, but for her brother’s blindness.

For Kate there is no hope of silencing the chaos in her head. There is no forgiveness for what she has done to her family, or herself. There will never be anyone to love her and her shattered past.

Cooper Sullivan recently moved to Malibu and was immediately adopted by a stray black lab he named Sadie. Cooper soon realizes there is something very special about Sadie when she is drawn to a beautiful woman, with a kaleidoscope of emotions that churn deep in her eyes.

Cooper sees Kate’s broken pieces scattered all around her, but he finds himself wanting to show her just how beautiful each piece is. Underneath her mask, he sees an even more beautiful woman, and he wants to help her put the broken pieces back together.

When you are broken you can never be fully put back together. There are always tiny slivers here and there that can never be replaced.

Can Kate finally silence the noise enough to forgive herself and hear the one thing she desires most?

Can one truly hear…love?


* A review copy was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review *

~ 4.5 Stars ~

Now this book is what I have come to expect when I read an Annalisa Nicole book. She gave us a sweet romance without a lot of outside drama, but also an emotional journey of one woman to find love, healing, and forgiveness.

I Hear…Love is the second book in Annalisa’s A Different Road series. This book is a standalone novel, but in my opinion, this should be read after reading book 1 (I See…Love) The characters that we meet in book 1 play an important role in this book, so to get a full and better understanding of the characters I would read them in order. Plus we get more insight into Kate from reading them in order.

This book was different from the first book. It was a lot more emotional and heart wrenching. She does cover the very serious topic of suicide and how one copes after, both the suicidal person and the family. I thought she handled this topic with a lot of tact and grace. She didn’t romanticize it but she didn’t get into to many graphic details. She shows that the struggle is real for everyone involved. I loved follow Kate on her journey to healing. I felt her growth over the two books.

I know what you are thinking, this is going to be a downer type of book, but it really isn’t. Yes my heart was breaking on several occasions, but Annalisa also incorporated a beautiful love story between Kate and Cooper. These two together are what also makes this book heartwarming. This is a fairly quick read, but I didn’t feel anything was rushed or forgotten. My only complaint was the role River played into this story and that I didn’t like River again for most of the book. I understand why he is important to the storyline, but I was hoping after reading his book, we would’ve seen a different side of him in Kate’s book. We do eventually see another side to him but it took along time for it to come out. There is also a small part towards the end of the book that I felt was to detailed and kind of took away from Kate and Cooper’s story. With that said it didn’t take away my enjoyment of the book as a whole, it’s just why it didn’t get 5 stars.

In this book we follow Kate and Cooper’s story. Kate is River’s sister and has been living with some severe guilt since the tragic car accident when she was five. She blames herself for the accident and because of that, has lived with voices in her head and the thought of suicide for years. Like I said this was Kate’s journey to healing herself and learning to love, not only herself but others. Cooper is a man who lives two houses down from Kate. We actually get introduced to him in the first book. When he first meets Kate he is instantly intrigued by her and so is his dog Sadie. Sadie has a weird but beautiful bond to Kate and Cooper really didn’t understand it at first, but finally gets it as his friendship with Kate grows. I LOVED Cooper…he was amazing!!! He was so patient and understanding and he was also able to see Kate for who she is on the inside….not the mask she put on for others. I also loved Kate’s character. I thought she was a strong woman even though she has some weak moments. It just showed that people can heal, with the right support and love around you.

I would recommend this book. Although if the talk of suicide is a touchy subject or possible trigger, then this might not be the book for you.


International Bestselling Author Annalisa Nicole is an “Indie” Contemporary Romance author. She’s been married to her husband since 1996 where she enjoys being a stay-at-home mom to their two teenage boys. She was born and raised in Michigan, but currently lives in California. 

She published her debut novel Take A Chance in October of 2013.



About Jennifer Harried

Leave a Reply