Enter to Win 
Loveswept & FLIRT Mugs and
Select Ebook Bundle

 

LAID OUT
Worth the Fight #4
Sidney Halston
Releasing August 18th, 2015
Loveswept

 

Perfect
for fans of Monica Murphy and Cecy Robson, Sidney Halston’s scorching new MMA
romance proves there are no holds barred when it comes to seduction.
 
Growing
up an Army brat, Violet Channing could never meet her dad’s high expectations.
But in the eyes of her best friend, she could do no wrong. He even insisted
that he should be her first kiss. Now Cain Sorensen is all grown up, hardened
by years in special ops and always looking for a good fight. Tall, with
striking blue eyes and impossibly blond hair, he’s a modern-day Viking warrior.
Of course, Violet’s all grown up, too, and she’s ready to surrender to his
every command.
 
Cain
knows he’s bad for Violet. His work is dangerous, and his hobbies are downright
deadly. As a private mercenary and a mixed martial arts fighter, he could never
let such an innocent soul into his world. And yet his most grueling combat
training is no match for Violet’s killer curves, hot touch, and suggestive
glances. Now all of Cain’s most explosive fantasies are coming true—but once
they cross the line between friends and lovers, there’s no turning back.
 
BUY NOW

REVIEW :

* A review copy was provided by the author via NetGalley for the Blog Tour *

~ 3.5 Stars ~

Laid Out is the 4th book in Sidney Halston’s Worth the Fight Series and I have to say it didn’t WOW me. This was the story I was really looking forward to and it fell short for me. It was an enjoyable read, but it was just missing something. I think the biggest problem I had was I didn’t realize that Violet and Cain’s past friend Jeremy was going to be such a major road block in their relationship. I also wasn’t a fan of Cain trying to set up Violet on other dates to help her move on. I find characters hard to connect with when they are kept apart for the majority of story. It makes their feelings and connection almost unbelievable. I understand that an author likes to create sexual tension between their characters and add angst to the story, but to me this was overkill. I guess I just saw their storyline going in a different direction then it did.

Now with that said, I did find parts of the story to be really enjoyable. And as with the other books in this series, I really enjoy Sidney’s writing style and flow of her stories. This one I just felt that there were some parts that could’ve been left out, as to not slow down the pace of the book. I thought the sub plot with Cain’s fighting on the side was an exciting addition to his story. I wish Sidney would’ve spent more time with that plot than with Cain always running away from Violet.

We met Cain and Violet primarily in Book 3 (Even though Cain had been seen before that) What we knew of Cain is that he is the strong silent type. He wasn’t one to talk very often and if he did it was with one word statements. What I did love was that Sidney didn’t change Cain at all in his book. She kept him true to his original character. Now that also caused some conflict in this book, because Cain and Violet’s lack of communication was a serious problem for them. But I also loved Cain’s loyal and loving side, when he actually did break down his walls and start to show his feelings, it melted my heart how much he truly loved Violet. As for Violet….I liked her character but I didn’t love her character. I’m not really sure what it was about her that rubbed me the wrong way at times, but something did. I did love how straight forward she was, she had me laughing many times by some of the things she would say. I do feel that she was way to forgiving of Cain….I think she should’ve made him grovel a little bit more. I know that JL’s book is next and I am hoping that we get to see more of Cain and Violet’s HEA in that story, since we didn’t get to see them together much in this book.

I truly believe this is a great series and one everyone should give a try, especially if you are a fan of a MMA story. Each of these books are filled with great emotion and a sweet love story. I know I will look forward to reading the next book in this series. So if you are a fan of sexual tension and angst, then Laid Out is the book for you.

 

jenniferh-sig

Excerpt-Banner
Cain hadn’t left Tarpon Springs, Florida, for this long since he’d moved there four years ago. He’d grown up on an army base, then served in the military for eight years before retiring, and this was the first time in his adult life that he felt he had a home. After one too many fights in school, his father had forced him to enlist, to follow the path of his father and his father’s father. The Sorensons bred military men. Then his second tour ended and he didn’t want the army to be a career, so he’d gotten out, much to his father’s dismay. Right now, if someone asked him why he had signed up with IMC, International Military Coalition, as a contractor, he couldn’t answer. At the time he’d only seen the dollar bills. The pay was amazing compared to what the U.S. government had paid him for risking his life for years as an Army Ranger, and signing up to make four times the amount with a private company seemed like the obvious next step.
As soon as Cain walked out of the airport, he hailed a taxi to take him straight to the Pier. It was Friday night, and his friends would undoubtedly be there. Plus, he needed a beer . . . or seven. On the ride over, he received a text from Iggy Mitchell, another mercenary he’d met overseas. Iggy had lost a leg in a tour in Iraq a couple of years ago, and when he wasn’t on a mission for IMC, he worked as a consultant in Tampa specializing in testing firewalls and other online security threats. In other words, he was a professional hacker. The two men had quickly hit it off and sparred together during their free time. Iggy’s hard work and zest for life made the prosthetic leg a nonissue. One evening Iggy had mentioned how he loved to gamble on a series of underground fights put together by some Russians. The text Cain was currently reading was the address of a fight happening in a few days. But Cain wasn’t a gambling man, so he wasn’t interested. He slid the phone back into his pocket and settled in for the forty-five-minute cab ride to the Pier.
It was raining when the taxi arrived. He swung the big duffle bag over his shoulder and looked around the familiar town before he reached to open the front door. A hand on his shoulder stopped him. “Hey, man! You’re back.” It was Tony, his friend, sparring partner, and professional mixed martial arts fighter, whom he had helped train a few months ago.
“Cain, honey, so glad you’re home!” Tony’s wife, Francesca, threw her arms around him for a big hug. He wasn’t big on contact, and he awkwardly put his arm around her waist and patted her back.
“Come on, let’s go inside,” Tony said. “The rest of the guys are on their way. Do they know you’re back? Where were you, by the way?”
“Libya. Just arrived. No one knows,” Cain replied.
Francesca hissed. “Libya. Fuck. That’s not safe.”
“No.”
“Still quite the conversationalist, I see.” Tony patted Cain roughly on the back.
“Leave the man alone. He just came back from hell, he doesn’t need that attitude tonight. By the way . . .” She poked Cain in the shoulder. “Don’t you ever fuckin’ leave again without letting us know you’re leaving or where you’re going. We were worried.” She reached in and hugged him again.
“Violet?” Cain asked when she released him.
“What about her?” Francesca asked.
“She okay?”
“Ask her yourself—she’s here.”
Cain tried not to smile, but his lips seemed to curl upward all on their own. He hadn’t seen Violet for years until a few months ago, when she’d moved to town. He was happy he’d get to see her tonight. As had always been the case, her warm smile was the perfect salve for his shitty mood.
Cain put a hand on Francesca’s upper arm. “Wait—before we go in, are there any fights coming up? Sign me up for something. Soon.” Francesca was co-owner of Worth the Fight Academy, a mixed martial arts gym that trained professional cage fighters, which was what Cain had been doing before heading off a few months earlier.
“You just got into town. You need to take a breather. We can talk about it when you’re settled back.”
“I’m settled. I’m back. Sign me up.”
“Fine. But tonight, relax, at least for a few hours. Come have a drink and say hello to everyone. We’ll find you something tomorrow,” Francesca said.
As soon as he opened the door to the familiar laughter and smell he started to feel better.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Sidney Halston lives her life by one
simple rule: “Just do it.” And that’s exactly what she did. At the age of
thirty, having never written anything other than a legal brief, she picked up a
pen for the first time to pursue her dream of becoming an author. That first
stroke sealed the deal, and she fell in love with writing. Halston lives in
South Florida with her husband and children.
 

 

 

About Jennifer Harried

One thought on “BLOG TOUR **~** Laid Out (Worth the Fight Series #4) by Sidney Halston — Review, Excerpt and GIVEAWAY!!!

Leave a Reply