Enter to Win 
Loveswept & FLIRT Mugs
and Select Ebook Bundle

 

CODE OF HONOR
Spontagio Family #1
Missy Johnson
Releasing Aug 25th, 2015
Loveswept

 

 
In a series debut for fans of Tracy Wolff and Sylvia Day, New York
Timesbestselling author Missy Johnson asks a burning question: What happens
when love is undeniable—and taboo?
 
Pietro Gustovi is loyal, polished, and hard as stone, the kind of guy women want and men respect. At twenty-three,  he’s survived tragedies that would break men twice his age. And he owes it all to his father’s closest friend, Giovanni Spontagio, who took him in as an orphaned teenager. Pietro would give his life for Giovanni . . . but his heart
belongs to Giovanni’s daughter.
 
Raised in Chicago under the spotlight of power and privilege, Lucy Spontiago feels most alive on stage. Determined to become a prima ballerina, she escapes her father’s protective gaze long enough to audition for the ballet in New York City. Soon, however, Lucy realizes that  she is not alone. Pietro is watching her back. And though he’s like a brother to her, Lucy cannot deny the thrill she feels knowing his eyes are on her.
 

 Pietro could never betray his mentor by sleeping with his only child. But Lucy follows her passions, no matter how forbidden. Soon their nights are consumed by explosive, red-hot temptation—a dance that will expose shocking secrets and burn everything else to the ground.

 

BUY NOW

review
* A review copy was provided by the author via NetGalley for the Blog Tour *

~ 4 Stars ~

I don’t know how to really write a review for this book. I enjoyed Code of Honor but I guess it just didn’t WOW me. I have to say I just think that there was a lot going on in this book that at times it was kind of overwhelming. This is really hard to explain without giving major spoilers for the story, so I guess you’ll just have to read the book and see what I’m saying.

I have read many book by Missy Johnson and I have to say that I thoroughly enjoy all her books, some more than others, but isn’t that always the case. I love her writing style. She also creates interesting and captivating characters and story lines. Code of Honor is no different. I liked the overall plot of this story, I just couldn’t figure out what the main focus was supposed to be on, we got a lot of side plots built into this book.

Code of Honor is kind of a forbidden love story between Lucia (Lucy) and Pietro. Lucy is the only daughter to Giovanni, and Pietro was taken in by Giovanni when he was 15 and lost his parents. Giovanni has always treated Pietro like a son, so Pietro has this underlying loyalty to him. Pietro has also been secretly in love with Lucy since the day he met her, but he has forced himself to stay away. Lucy’s dream has always been to be a ballerina, so when she auditions for the American Ballet Company in NY and gets accepted she is thrilled to go. Giovanni on the other hand is not so thrilled. He asks Pietro to go and watch over her without her knowing. Pietro jumps at the chance and from there we get to watch their relationship blossom. Along the way there is some mystery and suspense built into the story, which will leave you on the edge of you seat.

Code of Honor is written in Dual POV. I will warn you though if you aren’t a fan of Cliffhangers, then I would wait for the second book to be released. This ending wasn’t a total nail biter but had I known before hand that it ended this way, I know I would’ve waited. I will say that the Cliffhanger kind of came out of no where….The ending really didn’t make a lot of sense to me, I guess I expected a little more lead into it. I kind of expected something like this could happen, but I think we needed more of the story to bring us to this spot. I felt like she left out some major part of the story. I don’t know maybe it’s just me.

jenniferh-sig
Excerpt-Banner
“Here we are,” Bella sings out, pulling up in front of my place. “Call me later, okay?”

I lean over and kiss her cheek, then jump out of the car.

“Thanks for this, Bell. For making me go. I think I needed it.”

“That’s what I’m here for. I’ll accept Versace and diamonds when you’re a famous ballerina,” she says, winking at me. I laugh and wave at her as she drives off, waiting until her car rounds the corner before I buzz the security gate. The cameras zoom in on me, and I wave. A few seconds later, the gates swing open and I begin the trek across the grounds to the house.

I sneak inside, carefully closing the door behind me. I’m not ready to face my father just yet, though with all the cameras around the place he will know I’m home. I’m the world’s worst liar, and I know as soon as he starts grilling me about my day, I’m sure to crack. I slink upstairs and down the hall until I reach the safety of my room. Closing the door behind me, I sigh, the full impact of the day finally hitting me.

I’m exhausted, but too buzzed to rest. I lie down on my bed anyway. My mind is running a million miles an hour, and though I try to block them out, thoughts of getting accepted keep creeping into my head. I don’t want to dream, because if I keep my head grounded I can’t be disappointed—but what if I actually got in? A shiver races through my body. I want this so badly. I’d do anything for this opportunity.

Mom would be so proud of me for going today.

I wipe tears from my eyes, and think about Mom. Thinking about dancing always leads back to Mom. Before she died, she was my number one supporter. She made me believe I was capable of anything. When she died, a part of me died along with her.

Fifteen years ago today, she left us. I was six years old. She’d been sick for over a year before ovarian cancer finally took her. I treasured every day with her, because even at such a young age I knew what death meant. I’d never see her again.

If only she were here now, things would make so much more sense. I think about what she would tell me if she knew what I’d just done, and I smile. I know exactly what she’d say.

Follow your dreams, Lucy. Never let them out of your sight and take down anyone who tries to crush them.

Yeah. Mom was passionate when it came to protecting those she loved.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Missy Johnson is a New York Times and
USA Today bestselling author who lives in a small town in Victoria, Australia, with
her husband and her confused pets (a dog who thinks that she is a cat, a cat
who thinks he is a dog . . . you get the picture). When she’s not writing, she
can usually be found looking for something to read.

 

 
 

About Jennifer Harried

One thought on “BLOG TOUR **~** Code of Honor by Missy Johnson — Review and Excerpt !!

Leave a Reply